Skip to content

All Done!

March 10, 2008

socks with evie  socks

My first pair of socks for the Sock Knitters Pentathlon is complete! Over the course of the year we are knitting five different sock patterns and accumulating points for a speedy finish. I was no competition for the first place winner of this round: she finished an entire pair in nine hours! With the stress of midterms and sorority initiation week along with the usual commitments, I was happy to finish this pair in under a week.

 I made a few modifications to the pattern: some intentional and some….not. It’s written for toe-up, magic loop construction. I adjusted it for cuff-down with dpns, as I’m most comfortable with this method and had some illusions of speed-knitting when I started. Also, these were originally going to be for me, but ended up for Dear Fiance’s US 13 feet. I didn’t do a guage swatch (c’mon…they’re socks!) and ended up way to wide around, so I decided early on to make these ones for the boy.

This isn’t the end of the Jacobean pattern around here, though. Modifications were allowed to some degree for this round, but may not be in the future. I’m going to use this pattern to get comfortable with toe-up and magic loop. I’ll cast on a second pair for me (with smaller needles) shortly.

All in all, a very straightforward pattern that was easy to memorize and knit in class.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 225 other followers