Skip to content

My Basket Overfloweth

June 8, 2009

A week or two ago, I decided to give myself permission to craft. All too often I feel guilty about taking time out of my day to knit, crochet, sew, quilt, or even read. However, when I thought about this further I realized that I work as much as I can and maintain a tidy home. When these things are taken care of there is no reason not to take time for the things that I love to do. By giving myself this permission, I thought I could use the time to finish off some lingering unfinished projects.

Yet somehow new projects kept sprouting up and now my basket looks like this:

This is largely the result of several gift projects popping up in addition to some shop knitting. Let’s see what we’ve got here, shall we?

Sunshine Socks. The Sunshine pattern is next in the Sock Innovation knitalong on ravelry, so they’re also the next project in my personal sock challenge. I’m to the point of knitting the heel flap. By the way, Glynis is finished but the curse continues—I could take nothing but blurry photos. I’ll try again another day.

Aeolian Shawlette. One of the other teachers at my shop decided to start up a summer knitalong for the Aeolian Shawl and I joined up as soon as she mentioned it. I cast on yesterday and I have a few repeats completed. I originally thought that the beads might be the end of me, but I’ve gotten more comfortable with the technique. This may turn into my Sunday project, as that’s when the ladies are meeting to work on it.

Smittens. My sorority sister recently had a bridal shower and I’ll be sending her some smittens (also known as holding hand mittens). She’s got the personality to appreciate them.

Ugly Granny Square Washcloths. My little sister just graduated from high school and I’m pretty sure she’s too cool to read my blog. She also collects random plates and silverware and wants to be a crazy cat lady when she grows up. A traditional graduation gift just wouldn’t be right for her and I was inspired by Grumperina, so I’m crocheting some granny square washcloths for her in ugly colors.

Booties. My friend is a new auntie and my cousin is a new mom. ‘Nuff said.

Of course, I’ve also got a shop sample project going and the usual WIPs. I’m feeling overwhelmed with knitting in the best kind of way. We’ll see if I can hold still long enough to finish something instead of bouncing between them.

A week or two ago, I decided to give myself permission to craft. All too often I feel guilty about taking time out of my day to knit, crochet, sew, quilt, or even read. However, when I thought about this further I realized that I work as much as I can and maintain a tidy home. When these things are taken care of there is no reason not to take time for the things that I love to do. By giving myself this permission, I thought I could use the time to finish off some lingering unfinished projects.

Yet somehow new projects kept sprouting up and now my basket looks like this:

*photo*

This is largely the result of several gift projects popping up in addition to some shop knitting. Let’s see what we’ve got here, shall we?

Sunshine Socks. The Sunshine pattern is next in the Sock Innovation knitalong on ravelry, so they’re also the next project in my personal sock challenge. I’m to the point of knitting the heel flap. By the way, Glynis is finished but the curse continues—I could take nothing but blurry photos. I’ll try again another day.

Aeolian Shawlette. One of the other teachers at my shop decided to start up a summer knitalong for the Aeolian Shawl and I joined up as soon as she mentioned it. I cast on yesterday and I have a few repeats completed. I originally thought that the beads might be the end of me, but I’ve gotten more comfortable with the technique. This may turn into my Sunday project, as that’s when the ladies are meeting to work on it.

Smittens. My sorority sister recently had a bridal shower and I’ll be sending her some smittens (also known as holding hand mittens). She’s got the personality to appreciate them.

Ugly Granny Square Washcloths. My little sister just graduated from high school and I’m pretty sure she’s too cool to read my blog. She also collects random plates and silverware and wants to be a crazy cat lady when she grows up. A traditional graduation gift just wouldn’t be right for her and I was inspired by Grumperina, so I’m crocheting some granny square washcloths for her in ugly colors.

Booties. My friend is a new auntie and my cousin is a new mom. ‘Nuff said.

Of course, I’ve also got a shop sample project going and the usual WIPs. I’m feeling overwhelmed with knitting in the best kind of way. We’ll see if I can hold still long enough to finish something instead of bouncing between them.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 225 other followers