Skip to content

Owl Bag

June 10, 2010

Look, Mom! A finished sewing project!

Yesterday I got the urge to get back to this project, and I managed to finish it today. It’s Amy Butler’s Frenchy Bag out of fabric from Hannah Johnson Fabrics. I love it! It’s a nice design in that it’s both cute and sturdy. The straps are wonderful, there are two large inner pockets, and there’s also a magnetic snap closure.

I’d have to agree with the woman who told me that Amy Butler patterns may be a bit too thorough (“backstitch at both ends”), but it was nice to have a very straightforward pattern for my first time sewing in a long time. Now I feel reassured and ready to tackle some other projects that I have planned, like a top that I have all of the supplies to make.

This bag will, of course, be a knitting bag. In fact, it came in very handy to haul a few projects down to knit with Katie after this:
We dusted off our tap shoes after a couple years’ neglect. It was fun (although frustrating!) and we plan to do it again next week. Between tapping and walking home, my legs are ready for a little rest for the remainder of the evening!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Red's Mom permalink
    June 10, 2010 8:42 pm

    A sewing project by one of my daughters that’s actually FINISHED…a proud mommy moment indeed! Very cute!!! Glad to see you got in a little tap, tap, tappin’ with Berg, too!

Trackbacks

  1. Covet Wednesdays: A Frock by Friday « Red Knits

Leave a comment