Skip to content

Ballet Skirts

October 1, 2010

Back in July when my friend and I planned our knowledge exchange (I taught her how to knit and she taught me ballet), I knew I wanted to do something special to thank her for taking me on. I am, after all, a much older beginner ballet student than she’s used to.

When I saw the Selfish Seamstress‘s pattern for the Ballet Skirt for Grown-Ups, I knew that it would be perfect for my friend. I made the black skirt (pictured center, above) for her this summer, and she’s gotten a lot of use out of it. On my last trip to S.R. Harris, I picked up enough fabric to make three more skirts, two of which are finished and pictured above.

All of the fabrics are polyester so that she can wash the skirts when she needs to. I’ve lengthened the skirts by approximately three inches all along the lower curve, as my friend is quite tall. In the later skirts, she requested that I add a little more length to the ribbon, so I used 3 yards instead of 2 1/2.

These have been such fun projects, and I really love the instant gratification! I’m also loving my ballet class so far. I may be 7+ years older than the rest of the students, but I’m still having a great time and learning a lot. Someday I hope to be en pointe and looking as graceful as my amazing teacher!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 2, 2010 9:42 am

    I LOVE the skirts! I might have to make a couple of my own now! (after the Vivian sweater… and the Dale… and the pants… and an Amy Butler bag… blurgh…)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 221 other followers