Skip to content

Damson in Goldenrod

June 30, 2011
tags: ,

I’m afraid that I’m still working my way through last week’s UFO because I sent much of the week working away at Damson.

This version of Damson was supposed to be a class sample, but it looks like the class isn’t going to go. That means that Damson is all mine right away!

The sample would have been finished sooner if I hadn’t had so much trouble deciding on the right yarn. The pattern calls for a full skein of Malabrigo Sock, which has slightly more yardage than many of the other fingering weight yarns that we carry. In the end, I decided to use a lace weight yarn from Three Irish Girls that is heavy enough that it’s almost fingering weight. I’m quite pleased with the result.

I wore this Shawlette to the farmer’s market and to teach the last of the French Press Felted Slipper classes and received lots of compliments.

Pattern: Damson by Ysolda Teague
Yarn: less than 1 skein Three Irish Girls McClellan Lace in Gavin
Needles: 24″ US 5 Addi Lace
Made for: shop sample
Timeline: 22-28 June 2011
Modifications: None
Worst Part: I had to do the lace setup row several times–I must have left out some YOs along the way
Best Part: the feel of this yarn–it’s a wonderful, lightweight shawl for summer

Leave a comment