Skip to content

Just the Toes to Go

February 7, 2012

When I’m deciding which knitting classes to offer each session, I try to include some classes that I’ve taught before that have either been successful or are always important to offer and some new ones to mix things up for both me and those knitters that are constantly enrolling in classes and looking for the next new technique.

One new-to-me class this session (others have taught it at our shop, but I haven’t) is 2 socks on 2 circular needles. I wasn’t completely happy with the patterns that I found, and I didn’t want to ask students to buy an entire book for the class, so I decided to use the Knitting Pure & Simple Beginner’s Mid-Weight Sock pattern as a basis. We’ll then talk through how to use that pattern with this method of sock knitting in the class. Overall, I think this will actually be more useful because theoretically students will be able to adjust any pattern for the technique.

This photo needed a ton of adjustments to give you any sort of idea about the colorway

I have to admit that this is definitely not my preferred method of knitting socks–I’m a die-hard dpn girl–so I have been slowly working through these socks during shifts at the shop and during knitting classes.

During class last night, I was able to finish knitting the foot, so I just need to work the toes now. That should be pretty easy to accomplish during slipper class tomorrow, and then I’ll have another sample up on display.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2012 7:42 am

    I have yet to try knitting socks, but have decided that’s my next project! I’m thinking of the magic loop method, but only one sock at a time. Are there benefits to doing 2 at a time? Yours look beautiful so far! Thanks for sharing!

    • redknitter permalink
      February 8, 2012 3:32 pm

      There are lots of benefits of knitting socks two at a time, and you can actually make two at a time using the magic loop method, too. However, I’d encourage you to try knitting just one sock at a time for your first sock to get the tricky construction down. After that, the sky’s the limit!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 220 other followers