Skip to content

Pretty Little Things

April 15, 2012

A couple of weeks ago, when my anxiety was really getting to me, I decided to take a break from working on the Ranger Cardigan (which is finished now but hasn’t been properly photographed) and make these little booties for my coworker’s first granddaughter. This coworker has an office right next to mine, and she has been incredibly welcoming this year. She came back from spring break simply glowing with joy over the birth of her granddaughter and proudly shares pictures with us.

I estimate that these took about three hours to make: one hour to knit each of the booties and one hour for the finishing work. Not too bad for a gift this cute!

Pattern: Saartje’s Booties, smaller size
Yarn: ~53 yds Malabrigo Sock “Violeta Africana”–leftovers in my stash
Needles: US 1 dpns
Made for: Audrey
Timeline: March 15-27, 2012
Modifications: none that I can remember.
Worst Part: making the little loops for the buttons. Next time I’ll look on ravelry to see if anyone has found a better way.
Best Part: they’re adorable, and they were a hit!

I rarely go on etsy to avoid temptation, but I couldn’t resist this charm bracelet. It combines several crafts, so it’s perfectly suited to me. I was very happy with this shop–check her out here.

I’ve also acquired some very cute stitch markers recently.

The little sheep was a gift from our shop’s crochet instructor, but she quickly assured me that she did not make it herself! The roses are handmade in the area, and I couldn’t resist them when they came into our shop. The tag says “for Crochet,” but I’ll use them however I please!

Finally, I totally scored at the Fiber Rummage Sale last weekend. I went with a friend to see if we could find anything good. We weren’t too interested in the yarn that was there, so we started to rifle through the books. As I was flipping through, I saw the cover of Alice Starmore’s Tudor Roses and paused for a second in disbelief before snatching it up and holding on to it tight. I knew that it was out of print and selling for a lot of money on eBay–when I looked it up later, I saw that copies are selling for around $200. Can you guess how much I paid?

$1.50

The other book that I bought, which is still in print, cost me twice as much. The big question now is whether to sell it or keep it. What would you do?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Red's Mom permalink
    April 16, 2012 9:12 pm

    OK, I don’t usually get too excited about baby booties, but those ones are ADORABLE!!! I can just see them paired with a cute little dress and some ruffle-butt panties…makes my voice go up about two octaves just thinking about it!

  2. April 18, 2012 2:54 am

    These are the cutest booties. They look amazing! I love making baby apparell too! You can have a look at some of my booties and stuff on my blog…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 228 other followers