Skip to content

Covet Wednesdays: A Woman Obsessed

May 9, 2012

A little while back, my very favorite style blog, What Would a Nerd Wear, shut its doors. In addition to loving her style, I felt a certain connection to Tania because she is also a Ph.D. student in English. I looked forward to her posts every day, and now I’ll be trolling the archives when I need my fashion fix.

But let me back up for a moment. I’ve kept quiet about my second round of applications to graduate school in front of everyone except for close family and friends because I was so disappointed to have been rejected last year…and then have to tell everyone that I wasn’t going. Last October, after a lot of soul-searching and talking with Sweetie and other friends, I decided to give applications to Ph.D. programs another go. This time, I was accepted! I am excited to say that Sweetie and I will be packing our bags and moving to Pennsylvania for real this summer! He will be beginning an M.F.A. program in sculpture, and I will begin a Ph.D. program in English. The only downside is that we’ll be living apart for the next two years: we were accepted to universities that are about 2.5-3 hours apart, so we’ll see each other every 2-3 weeks. Despite this little downside, I’m thrilled to be moving to Pittsburgh and beginning my doctoral studies–it will be a really exciting change!

We’re now in the midst of looking for two places to live. We were originally hoping to take a trip out to Pennsylvania to apartment hunt in person, but it’s expensive, and with all of our jobs it’s really difficult to get away from work. When we were still planning on taking a trip out there, I thought about what I would pack that would be appropriate for meeting landlords and visiting campus. I quickly remembered the suitcase that Tania put together for her campus trip and desperately wanted to emulate it.

The title of this post is no lie: I am a woman obsessed! I realized after looking at the items in this capsule wardrobe that I would love it even more if I created the pieces myself so that they would be high-quality and a perfect fit. I may not have a specific trip to pack for anymore, but that doesn’t mean I can’t work away at making this capsule wardrobe: it just means that I’ll have more time to work on it, and I’ll be prepared for fall classes and any other trips that come my way.

Here are the items that I see in this wardrobe:

  • Print dress: I have a few patterns that I’m considering for this. I think it will ultimately come down to fabric selection.
  • Mustard cardigan: Last night I swatched and cast on for Basic Black in Silky Wool. I’m already enjoying this project!

Untitled

  • Navy blazer: this is the only item that I might leave out of the capsule wardrobe, at least for now. While I don’t have a navy blazer, I do have several in other colors and don’t feel a dire need for one at the moment. I reserve the right to change my mind if the sudden urge to sew a blazer overcomes me, but I’ll try to resist until I finish my Lady Grey coat.
  • Long-sleeved tees, white and striped: I ordered the Renfrew top pattern from Sewaholic as a birthday gift to myself, and I’m hoping to find some nice, soft knit fabric in the Twin Cities.
  • Plaid button-up: I haven’t found a pattern or fabric that I’m happy with for this yet. I also think I should sew up Sweetie’s shirt before I make one in a similar style for myself :)
  • Green A-Line skirt: I picked up some teal fabric to make the Beignet skirt from Colette. I’ll cut it out just as soon as Ginger is finished.

Untitled

  • Dark wash skinny jeans: I don’t have any of these, and I’ve been meaning to get some for a while. Perhaps I’ll look for some sales at the Mall of America this weekend. I’ve made jeans before, but I have zero desire to fit and sew skinny jeans, especially when I wear them out so quickly. I’ll stick with ready-to-wear for these
  • Scarves, solid and print: I may buy these, or I may make them using this tutorial and some cotton fabric.
  • Other accessories: gray tights, navy flats, brown boots, brown belt, watch: some of these I already own, and some of them I’ll be keeping my eye out for.

Overall, I’m really liking this idea of sewing with a plan. Oftentimes when I make garments for myself, they seem to be standalone pieces that I love but that don’t fit in terribly well with the rest of my wardrobe. All of the pieces in this capsule are very versatile and will, I think, serve me well as a graduate student in the fall. It will be nice to have these pieces and Tania’s combinations to fall back on on those mornings when I don’t have quite enough time to get ready.

Lest you think I’ve forgotten, I remember all of the unfinished projects that I’d like to complete before the move. That’s for another post…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2012 9:21 am

    You might also like this tutorial:
    http://www.comeonilene.com/2011/10/17/american-apparel-circle-scarf-knock-off-tutorial/
    On how to make a simple infinity scarf with knit fabric. I’ve made one, and I absolutely love it!

Trackbacks

  1. Dark Green Beignet | Red Knits
  2. Remains of Fall | Red Knits

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 207 other followers