Skip to content

Twenty-one-three

January 7, 2013

A little late to be joining in on the new year's posts, but here I am.

Shortly after celebrating the new year (in Minnesota! Thanks, Mom and Dad!), the new semester began around here. It's going to be a big one, but I'm hoping to retain my sanity nonetheless.

At the beginning of each semester, I tend to think about how I want my life to look this time around, so I end up making something like resolutions. Obviously, a lot of them are academic–improving my scholarly writing practice is the biggest of these–but others are things that I want to do for me as a person. You know, little reminders that I'm more than just a PhD student.

I've been doing a lot of swing dancing since I moved here, and I definitely want to keep that up. However, there aren't quite as many lindy hop opportunities as I imagined, so I may get back into salsa again. Something to get me moving that isn't “working out.” I'm also hoping to actively work on foreign languages again, which have always been a pet project of mine. My French has gotten rusty from disuse, so I'd like to get that back as well as work on Norwegian since Sweetie is pursuing summer artist residencies in Norway. I actually spent a little time working on each of these tonight.

Then, of course, there's the crafting. I'm still a member of 113 in 2013 and IntSweMoDo, but I'm involved mainly for the inspiration and community rather than feeling pressured to actually make 113 projects or 12 sweaters this year. My crafting has been transitioning a bit to more equally balance knitting and sewing, and I'm happy to just see where that takes me. In fact, I cut out a skirt just this weekend:

I've had this pattern for a while, and I know I bought the fabric (which is actually green–hard to photograph) last spring/summer, but I've only just now cut it out. Does anyone else have that problem with indie patterns–they're just a little to precious (and, for a girl who mainly shops the 99c sales, pricey) to cut out? I know that an easy solution would be tracing the pattern pieces, but I'm simply to lazy and impatient for that :) Anyway, it's cut out now, as are the tissue pieces for a couple other projects. I was hoping to get to the sewing yesterday, but I lost daylight too soon.

I guess my biggest crafting goal is the same as last year's: take more pictures, so that I can get on with things and actually enjoy the garments and accessories I make. This is proving challenging without a spouse available to take photos whenever I want, so I'll have to figure something out so that there's something for me to share around here again!

Happy 2013!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers