Skip to content

On My Sewing Table

January 28, 2013

I think I've mentioned before that my crafting has leaned more towards sewing lately–it's simply about finished product, and I could use more sewn than knitted items in my wardrobe right now. Last you heard, I had cut out Beignet, and I'm plugging along a little at a time:

Wow, that's a crummy photo. I really need to spend more time at home during daylight hours.

Right now, I've assembled the outer skirt, lining (yes, it's blue!), facing, and even seamed the self belt. It's just about time to put everything together into a full skirt. This has really been a spare moment kind of project for me, as I normally only get one step of the instructions done at a time (if that). Despite the proliferation of super-fast sewists online, I'm trying not to let my turtle speed bother me. I'm more concerned with taking the time to do it right than finishing quickly, and I just don't have big blocks of time for sewing right now.

I typically reserve Sundays for “me” time, which is the most sewing time I ever have, but that didn't happen this week. Thanks to the cold that's taking down my department, I spent Saturday doing little more than watching Netflix and feeling sorry for myself, so I had to make up for lost work time on Sunday. I did sneak off to my sewing table for a little bit to take advantage of the daylight and cut out my Renfrew top.

The fabric is a little wild–that's because I'm using this one as my wearable muslin. I picked up the fabric on clearance, and I think it's cute. Oh, and I think the finished top will go nicely with my Beignet skirt :)

I'm starting with the version that has 3/4 sleeves and a cowl neck. Much as I wanted to practice a different neckline on this trial top, the fabric insisted on a cowl. I love cowls, so I'm happy to oblige.

This is another indie pattern that I've been waiting to make for a while–I bought it as a birthday gift to myself last spring. It's about time I get going! Lucky for me, Tasia posted a nice series of sewing with knits blog posts to accompany the pattern, so I feel like I'm in very good hands. Now, if only there were a few more hours in the day…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2013 9:35 pm

    I finally got a sewing table, just a place I can leave my projects. It’s been so helpful because I can just pick up a project when I have a few minutes to sew and not have to drag it all out etc etc. Anyhoo, I’ve been lurking around your site, and it’s a keeper. Oh, and I’m falling in love with knits. Awesome!

  2. Red's Mom permalink
    January 28, 2013 10:05 pm

    Gotta laugh – I quickly glanced at the first picture and was surprised to see that you were making a lined jacket (albeit a somewhat oddly shaped jacket?!?!), since I didn’t think you’d mentioned anything about having a jacket in progress! Anyway, keep up the good work on the skirt – looking forward to seeing photos of the finished product (likely paired with some cute shoes)! Hmmmm…maybe it’s time to get back into the sewing room myself…that blouse doesn’t seem to be finishing itself!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Pleased for Once | Red Knits

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 213 other followers