Skip to content

Conference Knitting: Louisville Edition

March 11, 2013

I was lucky enough to have a paper accepted to The Louisville Conference on Literature and Culture since 1900, which is rather a Big Deal. A lot of people from my program attend this conference this year, and I was really pleased to have a project that I’ve been working on for a long time now accepted.

There’s typically a caravan (using the term loosely…we trickle in) of students and faculty making the 6-7 hour drive from Pittsburgh to Louisville, so you better believe I packed some knitting!

Image

I cast on a Stripe Study shawl on the way there and have been working on it steadily ever since. This project has been a long time coming. I first admired the pattern during the initial craze after its publication, and I purchased the yarn a couple of years ago. I’ve wanted to use Jamieson’s Spindrift yarn all along–I thought this would be a great pattern to showcase a yarn that is sometimes underrated outside the world of colorwork knitting. The finished shawl should be incredibly cozy, and I’m really enjoying the rows and rows of garter stitch. It’s exactly what my grad school-addled mind needs right now.

In addition to the shawl, I wanted to bring along a project that was a little more portable to work on during the panels. I’m not much of an aural learner to begin with, so I really struggle with full days of listening to papers. Knitting on something that doesn’t require much attention really helps.

My go-to project in these situations is, as you probably know if you’ve been here for a while, socks. These ones will go to an amazing colleague who has been such a wonderful friend to me since the day we met.

Image

I didn’t get very far during the conference itself (through the gusset, I think?), but I brought them along for spring break and finished the first sock over the weekend. The second one may come along to the next conference. Destination: Boston!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 12, 2013 8:49 pm

    Lovely knitting and enjoy my favorite city!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 221 other followers