Skip to content

Pleased for Once

May 10, 2013

The semester is over, and it’s summer! For me, summer always feels like the perfect time to catch up on my sewing. Lucky for me, I have a newly organized sewing room (which I really should show off sometime) and enough projects and materials to keep me crafting until fall (and beyond…ahem…).

I’ve got several projects that are in progress and really don’t need much work to be done, but I decided to kick off summer with something quick, easy, and satisfying.

You might remember that I cut out this Renfrew top back in January so it would be ready to go when I wanted to put it together. That day came on Tuesday: after a wonderful weekend with friends visiting from Minnesota, I felt like a quiet day at home. I started sewing in the afternoon and was finished long before bedtime. This project went together with hardly a hitch, and I’m really pleased with my construction for once. There are so many sewing projects that I like from the outside but would never show off the inside–I’m too critical from all those years competing. This project, however, makes me proud, and hopefully indicates a turn in the right direction.

When I originally shared this project, I mentioned that it was intended to be a wearable muslin to get the fit right so I can make a bunch more Renfrew tops. I’m pretty happy with the fit overall, but looking at this back view makes me think it’s time to figure out that swayback adjustment I’ve heard so much about–there’s a little too much excess fabric in the small of my back. Any favorite resources for this alteration?

I’m not really sure what’s next for my trusty “Anna” sewing machine and me. I’d like to say it will be the Beignet skirt, but I’m so frustrated with the fabric quality (amongst other issues) right now that I’m just as likely to throw it out as I am to finish it. Hopefully I can salvage the project–it would be a great skirt for summer.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2013 10:12 am

    Looks great, I think I’ll have to try one of these myself!

  2. May 16, 2013 10:57 am

    Nice! Happy Summer!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Alison Klawiter permalink
    May 28, 2013 8:50 am

    Too cute! I made myself a pair of pajama pants out of that same fabric!

Trackbacks

  1. Weekend Fails | Red Knits
  2. Me-Made-May ’14 Week 4 Update | Red Knits

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 231 other followers