Skip to content

Project Organization Tip

June 25, 2014

Project Card HolderWhenever I head to the fabric store, I bring this little red index card holder along with me. It’s the key to my sewing sanity.

Last year, I found that each time I wanted to work on a project, I would end up digging through all of my sewing projects, some of them in progress and some of them with supplies purchased, before deciding what to sew next. Dragging out all of those projects was messy and a waste of my time, so I decided to organize my projects in a way that would be portable and easy to flip through.
Project Cards FrontInside is an index card for each of my projects. On the front of the card is the name of the pattern and a swatch of the fabric(s) I’m using. This comes in really handy when there’s a sale on thread or notions and I’m unexpectedly picking up supplies to get a good deal.
Project Cards BackOn the back is a list of supplies I still need to purchase and, if the project has been tucked away before finishing, a note about where I left off.

My little card holder also has enough room to include swatches of the fabrics in my small stash and their yardages in case I have a fabric in mind for a pattern I come across.

I had all of the supplies for this organizational system on hand, so it cost me nothing but the upfront time of putting it together, and it’s really paid off for me over the last year. Now that I’m looking at these pictures, all that’s missing is a little decoration on the outside of the case to make it a little cuter!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2014 11:39 pm

    What a clever idea! And so cute too!

  2. June 26, 2014 6:57 pm

    i love this idea!! totally stealing it (:

  3. Charlotte permalink
    June 26, 2014 11:48 pm

    Sounds an awful lot like a certain parent in your family.

Trackbacks

  1. Project Organization with Plastic Bags | Red Knits

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 217 other followers