Skip to content

UFO Mondays: Washcloths and Bex

July 7, 2014

Granny Square WashclothsMy sister’s granny square washcloths are finished, blocked, and tucked away for the holidays. I made a set of seven washcloths out of Tahki Cotton Classic using a variety of motifs from 50 Fabulous Crochet Squares (Leisure Arts #4420) and backed with motif #90 from Beyond-the-Square Crochet Motifs: 144 circles, hexagons, triangles, squares, and other unexpected shapes by Edie Eckman. I won’t bore you with the all of the details about these washcloths, but you can find the colors and motifs I used by looking at my ravelry notebook and searching “washcloth” if you’re interested.

Normally, the only crochet I do is for edging on knitted projects, and this set of washcloths was a great way to expand my crochet skills. You can see the difference by looking at the first washcloth I made, the purple and brown one in the upper right corner, and comparing it to the last one I finished, the cotton candy colors to the lower right of center. I see a marked difference between the two, especially in keeping those corners nice and square, and I’m pretty proud of that!
Bex UFOMy next UFO is Bex, the very last sock in Sock Innovation project! I dearly love these intricate socks I’ve been knitting, and I’m not going to stop making crazy socks once the project is over, but I will be thrilled to put all of these second socks behind me!

Last seen: July 2009 (exactly 5 years ago today, actually)

Reason for abandonment: the Sock Innovation project  that resulted in a lot of single socks

Assessment: my notes show that this was the most time consuming of the patterns, so I’ll have to enforce my “little bit each day” rule. I’m likely heading out of town later this week, so that should also allow some extra knitting time.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Charlotte permalink
    July 8, 2014 9:51 pm

    Oh, Cheryl! Now she knows what she’s getting for Christmas.!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 228 other followers