Skip to content

Project Organization with Plastic Bags

July 9, 2014

I recently shared how I organize my projects with notecards to avoid digging through all of my WIPs, UFOs, and planned projects to pick out the next one to work on. Today, I thought I’d share how I organize the projects themselves to make digging through them a little easier.
Plastic Bag Project OrganizationFor me, it’s all about the plastic bags. They’re not pretty, but they keep everything neat, clean, and together. I’m able to grab one of these bags and know that just about everything I need for the project–or at least everything I’ve already obtained–is inside.

Most of my sewing projects are just the right size for a standard plastic shopping bag. Since those aren’t typically transparent, I label them with a white shipping label and a sharpie to avoid opening the bag to see what’s inside. My knitting projects often fit in quart or gallon size zip top Hefty bags, and since they’re transparent, I don’t tend to label them. I also tend to ditch these plastic bags when I’m actually working on the projects, preferring a sturdier bag like this amazing Big Bang Theory bag that KG just gave me (thanks so much!!).

I might go with something a little prettier in the future, like the tidy little boxes I see some other bloggers using, when I have a permanent living situation, but this baggie system works really well as I venture between apartments.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Red's Mom permalink
    July 10, 2014 6:56 pm

    As administrator, faculty, counselor, kitchen crew and dorm staff of this summer’s Mom’s Sewing Camp, I’ll be super excited to see photos of a fabulously well-fitting modeled shirt replacing the ‘Steve’s striped shirt’ bag-o-supplies!!!

    • July 11, 2014 10:50 am

      Agreed! But that one might be a while. I’m starting with the gray one at his request, and I don’t know if he’ll want the red stripe or the blue plaid next. The pattern is finally altered and traced off, so I may even get to cut it out tonight.

  2. July 11, 2014 5:50 pm

    I like the Ziplocks because you can see the project for on-the-go knitting, but the cloth ones are so pretty. I also have a suspicion that you could whip out a couple of (sewn) project bags between garments… :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 231 other followers