Skip to content

The Bag That Nearly Did Me In

July 11, 2014

Weekender BagShe goes by many names. The official one is “Weekender,” of course. And mom not-so-fondly referred to her as “Lucifer.” Me, I tended to favor “f*cking piece of sh*t.” I do have those fancy English degrees, after all.
Weekender Bag liningNow that this construction ordeal is finally over after many months going in and out of time out, I’m learning to love her. She’s lined in one of my favorite shades of pink, and she has a bonus elasticized pocket so that my iPad can be, almost literally, attached to my hip. In defiance of Amy Butler’s instructions, she has a heavy duty separating zipper–we made it work.
Weekender BagOn the outside, she’s cute and just a little bit vintage, with pockets on all four sides to provide easy access to a cell phone, lipstick, or pair of sunglasses. There are small feet on the bottom to protect it from getting dirty. Those handles are sturdy, and the piping, though it was a b*tch to sew, looks oh so polished.
Weekender BagYes, I think I like this bag now. But friends, if you ever hear me chattering about whipping up another of these bags, please remind me of the blood, sweat, tears, and panic attacks (yes, I mean all of these quite seriously and literally) that went into this bag. Remind me that even my patient seamstress mother was tempted to toss the nearly completed bag in the garbage. Remind me that this bag made me question my motivations for sewing anything ever.

And then slap me in the face and take the pattern away from me. Because this one is the last one.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2014 11:31 pm

    Lol, it is cute, though! Great job!

  2. July 12, 2014 4:49 am

    Ha! Well I think it looks great, so I’m glad you got there in the end :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 231 other followers