Skip to content

Something Better

May 7, 2007

I was going to write some crap about my wips. Yeah, I’m knitting. Things are progressing. So what?

I’ve been thinking about knitting a lot lately and about what it means to me. I think the reason why knitting really appeals to me is that it is truly a craft for intelligent people. Anyone can learn how to knit: it isn’t difficult. Even the “advanced” techniques just take a little patience. But those who get hooked on knitting are hungry for knowledge. They want to learn everything they can about it and in any way.

 That’s how I’ve felt lately. I’ve been reading blogs more than I’ve been knitting. I’ve been learning about fibers and needles and design techniques. I actually have to step back and remind myself that the reason why I love learning about these things is because I enjoy the act of knitting. Knowledge is amazing, but practice is, too.

I’ve also realized that imperfection is okay. I’m making a fair isle Andean bag and I’ve learned some new techniques along the way. It is far from perfect. But I really love knitting it and I know that the recipient will enjoy having something like it. That’s enough for me. I like improving myself but I also understand that improvement is a process. Reading about something can only take me so far. I need to do a lot more of the doing to really make improvements. There will be some less than perfect finished objects out there, but that’s the fun of it.

I can’t wait to see what’s next. I’m loving this.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

