Skip to content

Finished Flower Basket

September 10, 2007

090907-010-web.jpg

Pattern: Flower Basket Shawl by Fiber Trends
Yarn: A little over 2 skeins of Jamieson 2 ply in Purple Heather
Yarn Source: Yarn Harbor
Needles: US 6 29″ bamboo circulars
Gauge: 20 stitches to 4″
Finished size: 53″ x 23 1/2″
Modifications: Fewer pattern repeats

I’ve been finished with this one for over a month. This is my first “big” lace project and I am very proud of it! It certainly isn’t perfect, but it gave me the confidence I’ll need to make shawls for myself and my four bridesmaids for my wedding next June. I’m doing swallowtails for them and I haven’t found something for myself yet.

The whole project took me around two months while working extra-full time and knitting socks on the road. I’m certain I could have knocked it off pretty quickly if I had had more free time and less stress.

 The Jamieson blocked beautifully. I’m happy with the amount of air that the yarn leaves the design with, but the shawl is still plenty warm which is a must in MN! I would definitely use this yarn again. There are just so many colors to choose from!

The pattern was just fine-it is, after all, thoroughly tested-but I’m glad that I started reading the charts. I made far fewer mistakes when I was reading the charts vs. the instructions.

More nature shawl photos courtesy of my Dear Fiance:

090907-015web.jpg

090907-021.jpg

090907-024.jpg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

