Skip to content

I’m baaack!

September 29, 2007

I didn’t mean for it to be sooo long since my last post. But life, both in expected and unexpected ways, got in the way of the blog. Alas. There has been knitting!

091607-026web.jpg

Pattern: Foliage by Emilee Mooney for Fall 07 Knitty
Yarn: Brown Wool-Ease Worsted
Yarn Source: Left over from a condemned project
Needles: US 5 and 7
Modifications: Shorter ribbing for my little head

If I thought the tools didn’t matter before this project, I certainly learned my lesson! This pattern was my first top-down hat and, while the construction made a lot of sense for the pattern, it was a huge pain with my birch dpns. They grabbed the yarn like nobody’s business, making the (simple)  lace pattern really hard on my hands. If I do this one again I am definitely investing in another set of dpns–that was unpleasant.

I’m really happy with the finished project. The knitting kept me sane over a difficult weekend and I love the fit and color of the hat. It’ll be perfect for chilly autumn walks to school.

 There has been much more knitting, but I think I’ll wait to share it until I have some progress pics. Unfortunately, I think those projects will be going into forced hibernation very shortly because I need more yarn. Luckily I have plenty more to keep me occupied.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

