Skip to content

Jacobean 2.0 Complete!

March 26, 2008

I cheated on my first pair of Jacobeans. Maybe not according to the SKP 2008 rules, but it was cheating as far as I was concerned. You see, I’m a little bit competitive. I was raised in 4-H, which more than encouraged my competitive side. I was always in it to win. And I did win. Often. So when I started in on the first sock of the pentathlon, I wanted to do everything I could to encourage placing amongst the first finishers. This meant that I altered the pattern to what I was most comfortable with: double-pointed needles knit from the top down. I felt that stretching myself with the short row heel, which I had tried only once before, was plenty for a competitive knit. Cheater!

 I’ve made amends.
jacobean 2.0

This pair of Jacobeans is all for me. I made them out of Dale Baby Ull so they were pretty economical. And no cheating this round! These ones were made with magic loop and are my first pair knit from the toe up. I can’t say that I’m converted to the magic loop. I know that a lot of people swear by it, but I’m pretty attached to my dpns. However, I’m really glad that I hunkered down and learned some new techniques. They’ll be great to have in my back pocket for later on in the pentathlon as well as for any customers that come into the shop looking for magic loop or toe up technique.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 27, 2008 4:57 am

    I am a die hard dpn gal myself. I find the magic loop much too fiddle(y) and I can knit socks much faster on dpns than any other method, but have given them all a try. Your socks look beautiful.

Leave a Reply

