Skip to content

A Letter

March 28, 2008

Dear Vogue Knitting,

I am in love. Normally I’m not a big fan of your magazine because it’s a little too much Vogue and not enough Knitting for me, but this time you really got me. For the past few months I’ve been scouring every pattern within my reach for the perfect cardigan, shawl, or shrug for my upcoming bridal showers. With all of the patterns out there, you would think that I could find something that would work. Not so. Since I’m not knitting myself a wedding shawl (it doesn’t work with my dress), I needed a perfectly feminine, bridal knitted garment to wear to my showers.

Then your Spring/Summer 2008 issue came along with its “White Way” bridal spread. Although all of the garments were really lovely, the lace cardigan by Simona Merchant-Dest practically jumped off the page at me. I already had the needles, and I knew that the LYS I work at had some Blue Sky Alpaca sport that I could substitute, so I could cast on right away.

This might seem like a letter of praise, and in some ways it is. However, my first shower is April 24th. The reason why this cardigan is so perfect for me is that it has gorgeous multidirectional lace that will provide the perfect delicate femininity. It’ll also be a lot of work. I am a fast knitter, but I’ve also got college, work, and a wedding to plan. Multidirectional lace with a deadline probably isn’t the best idea at this point in my life. My rational side says that I should ignore the siren call of your latest issue and turn to something a little more simple, perhaps with a yarn that will dress up an easier pattern.

Thanks to your magazine, my irrational side prevailed. I’ve got a completed sleeve and quite a bit of ivory alpaca. In the future, it might be wise to consider the time constraints of the modern bride before publishing stunning lace projects that a bride-to-be simply cannot resist. Oh, and I apologize to you in advance for all the cursing I’ll send your way on April 23rd.

 Sincerely,

Red

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 28, 2009 7:51 am

    I was poking around on the internet to get insights into knitting this sweater when I found your post. I had to smile – so many of the same emotions expressed here that I am having (am I nuts to start this two months before my daughter’s wedding?!). I will now look for your other posts on this to see how it turned out. I hope it went well!

Leave a Reply

