Skip to content

Acquisitions

April 10, 2008
tags:

It’s been a long day and I am tuckered out. Luckily, I am now at the point in my lace cardigan where it’s smooth sailing. I got quite a few inches of the body done in my classes today, which feels really good. I think I’ll be able to finish it in time for the shower without a problem. Sewing the dress might be a bit more of a challenge.

It’s been a really stressful week around here, and tonight was my night at the yarn shop. That meant that I picked up a bit of yummy sock yarn to make me feel better.

Item 1:

This is Mountain Colors “Bearfoot” in Yellow Stone. I have to admit that any yarn with a handwritten colorway makes me a little happy inside. It’s a little touch of humanity that makes me feel like I’m buying something that’s more personal than the mass-manufactured yarns. Of course, I still love my Cascade 220!. This yarn is a heavy fingering weight, so I think it will be just right for the Socktopia April Mystery Socks. I just love doing these special Socktopia events. I normally don’t get too involved for the regular theme contest because there never seems to be enough time, but the few special events each year are worth making time for. These might be cast on before anything else is bound off…what can I say?

Item 2:

I’m going to go ahead and blame this purchase on Katie. We’re performing a tap dance piece to ‘Boogie Wonderland’ from the movie Happy Feet in a few weeks. She saw the name of this yarn last week and couldn’t help herself–she’s making a pair of socks to wear for the show. I was there when she bought the yarn and I resisted, but when I read her blog this morning I just couldn’t help myself. I had to make some Happy Feet socks for my own tap shoes. I think this color suits me in a fun way. I’m not sure what pattern I want to use yet. Tonight I’ll take a look at my books and my ravelry queue and see what I’ve got. I might actually get started on these ones before the Bearfoot socks because those performances are really sneaking up!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Wendy permalink
    April 11, 2008 8:37 am

    I just love your Happy Feet sock yarn! What fun, I look forward to seeing pics of some finished socks. Where is that located in the store? What is it made of?

  2. redknitter permalink
    April 11, 2008 12:54 pm

    It’s back in the sock yarn section in the part right up against the wall. It’s 90% superwash merino and 10% nylon. Love the colors–it was so hard to choose just one!

Leave a Reply

