Skip to content

People are so nice!

May 1, 2008

Sorry from my blog absence, but it’s been a fun and busy week!

Last thursday was my twenty-second birthday. The dear fiance and I went out the night before and had a late night drink, which was nice because I didn’t really get to celebrate my twenty-first last year.

One of my bridesmaids and sorority sisters threw me a bridal shower/birthday party. She did such a nice job! I was so glad that my friends came, because I was really worried that some wouldn’t come because they might think they had to bring a gift. We had some yummy food and a lot of fun. All my girls were so thoughtful–lots of them got me gifts to help me relax. It must be pretty obvious that I’m stressed out about this wedding business!

On friday I went down to the Twin Cities for a Disney themed bridal shower. My family sure knows how to spoil me! My grandma got me a Kitchen-Aid mixer that I’ve already broken in with a batch of cookies. I didn’t realize how generous people are when they’re helping a young couple start out their life together. It was so nice to see my family again, because I haven’t seen a lot of them since December. My little cousins were too cute. My mom had each of them guess what was in each box before I opened it. They quickly caught on that ‘kitchen supplies’ was a pretty good bet. However, I made the mistake of letting them help me open. As soon as they made their guesses it was a free for all swarm around me while I was still trying to get the card open! I think they had a good time.

While I was down in the Cities I got to try on my gown again. It is absolutely stunning. Mom is nearly done making it and it has really come together beautifully. When I try it on it’s hard to really believe that it’s my wedding gown. In fact, the whole wedding thing really hit me this past week. Everyone was congratulating me, so after 3 1/2 years of being engaged it finally feels like it’s really going to happen. Which is probably a good thing since the wedding is in less than two months!

When I got home there was another surprise waiting for me. My package from the College Knitters Swap arrived and boy did she spoil me!!!

swap package

There is a beautiful scarf knitted out of Lamb’s Pride in my sorority’s colors, NatureSpun in the same colors, a Moleskin notebook, pretty Victorian print posties, book plates, a kitty bookmark, and sugared pecan candles. My swap partner is amazing! I’m so glad to have gotten to know her over the past few months and I’m glad that I get to spoil her in return! I just have to finish up a few things and her package will be off. I hope she likes hers as much as I love mine!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 5, 2008 5:59 pm

    Yay! I’m so glad it got there okay and you like everything! It’s been such a pleasure knitting for you, this was my first swap and I’ll always remember is so fondly. =)

    Happy belated 22nd birthday! My 23rd is coming up middle of the month. And hooray for getting a Kitchen-Aid mixer! I’ve been pining after one of those. =P

Leave a Reply

