Skip to content

I learned something new!

May 19, 2008

Finals are all over and I’m on to summer break! It was a really stressful finals week on quite a few levels, but I had a few projects to keep me sane through it.

lillie

This is Lillie’s Little Sweater from Cottage Creations. Sandy from the store absolutely loves this pattern, so I decided to try it for some easy finals knitting. I used Dreambaby DK for what I hope will be a small enough size. Allisha was born at only 5 pounds, so she’s a pretty tiny little girl. I really loved working on this project and I would definitely recommend it! It’s well written and flexible, so it works well for a variety of sizes. I’ll probably make more of these in the future.

lace ribbon

This is the popular lace ribbon scarf out of Colinette Jitterbug. I’m loving the semi-solid look of this yarn. I’m a really bad judge of how much yarn I have left, so I don’t really know how much I have left. I’m sure that it’s over halfway finished, though.

Now, for what I learned. When I went into the shop on Saturday I had decided to learn how to combination knit. Imagine my surprise when I started knitting and realized that this was how I first learned how to knit! Here’s the story. I started knitting and really started cruising after a year or so. I was really frustrated when I noticed that my knitting in the round was seriously biased. I looked around online and couldn’t figure out what was going on. I stopped by my LYS and found out that all of my stitches were twisted and that’s why it was biased. I had to re-learn how to knit “properly.” This wasn’t judgment on the part of my LYS or anything, it was just that I hadn’t been doing stockinette in the round correctly and it didn’t give me the appropriate product. I still couldn’t figure out why my back and forth knitting was just fine, but I went with the new style which is basically continental.

Part II: Lately, I’ve been noticing that my straight knitting has been rowing out a lot. It just didn’t look good. That’s when I decided to try combination knitting and discovered that that was how I first learned to knit. I’ll now be using combination for back and forth and continental in the round. I feel like I’m so well informed now!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

