Skip to content

Lace Knitting

May 20, 2008

I’ve done a few lace projects now, and I’ve realized that having the right tools for the job is absolutely essential. Now, I think this is really true for anything in knitting. If you’re going to put all that time and money into something, you should use quality materials so that you end up with a quality product. Not to mention that the right tools can often save you from a lot of headaches along the way.

This is even more true for lace knitting. When I decided to knit the lace ribbon scarf I kept this in mind. I chose a yarn that I felt would display the pattern and hold up to blocking well, and I think that the Colinette Jitterbug is really working out well. I looked through every single version of this pattern on ravelry to find the right yarn for me. Although we had some gorgeous fingering weight yarns that would have been nice to use, I noticed that I was really drawn to the semi-solid versions of the pattern, so that’s what I went with. After I pulled out a few skeins of yarn, I polled the Sunday knitters and ended up with this gorgeous deep blue. It looks really bold against my fair skin.

My next decision was which needles to use. I knew that I wanted to cast on right away and my only needles in that size were kinda crappy, so I decided to pick up some new needles. I ended up with the Addi Lace Knitting needles and I am so happy that I chose them. When I took a look at them they didn’t seem that much pointier than other needles, but they make my lace knitting so much easier! This pattern doesn’t have any k3tog’s, but next time bring it on!!! If you haven’t tried these needles yet, they really are worth the extra money for the frustration that they save you as well as the tension. I know that when I’m using needles that aren’t pointy enough for the job my wrists end up taking a beating. No pain with these needles, so I’m flying through this pattern!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

