Skip to content

A New Toy!

May 26, 2008

I absolutely adore my coworkers at the lys. They are such sweet people and are a joy to work with. I’m happy every time I walk in the door.

Just a few weeks ago, they threw a little brunch party. It was a bridal shower for me and a graduation celebration for Molly and Meg. The ladies did such a nice job setting up a pretty table in the back of our store and we had a wonderful time chatting. If that weren’t enough, they went in together to get me a gift that they knew my DF and I would love.

ball winder

This is my beautiful new ball winder from Nancy’s Knit Knacks. It’s the very same one that we use in our store. I’ve loved using it ever since we got it a few months ago, and Steve volunteered to wind yarn for me whenever he was in the shop. Although I’m the only one who knits, this really is a gift for both of us.

It really takes a team effort because right now I don’t have a swift. I think that I will ask my craftsman grandpa if he will make one for me that matches the ball winder nicely. He does a lot of woodworking, so I know he’ll do a great job and work hard to make it look nice. But for now it’s nice that one of us gets to play ‘swift’ while the other winds.

After receiving my ball winder, I decided that I needed something special to wind. DF is going on a hiking trip on the Superior Hiking Trail shortly, so I decided to try to make him a sweater in time. I purchased a heathered brown Cascade 220 and a dark green for accent to make the Adult Tomten Jacket. I’m already working away at it and have quite a few inches of the body complete. I don’t know if I’ll finish it in time for his trip, but DF will certainly have a versatile jacket to wear this summer. Pictures of that project are coming your way tomorrow…miles of fantastic, smooshy garter stitch!

P.S. Evie doesn’t know what to think of the ball winder yet:

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 3, 2008 7:02 am

    Wow that is a super nice ball winder! I like it!

Leave a Reply

