Skip to content

Adventures!

July 2, 2008

My new hubby and I have been going on a lot of adventures lately! It’s been really fun to explore the Northland.

Monday
On Monday, we decided to visit Katie while she was working at Vertical Endeavors. I wanted to try climbing for a long time, but I didn’t want to hurt myself or rip up my hands before the wedding. Now that the wedding is over we decided to give climbing a try. DH had a ton of fun and wants to go back soon. I didn’t do quite so well, but I’ll definitely give it another shot.

Before biking up the hill home we decided to catch a movie. Wall-E wasn’t showing for a while, so we saw The Love Guru. It’s bad in such a wonderful way! Essentially, it’s Austin Powers 4–same gags and everything. I wouldn’t pay full price for admission, but I think it was worth the cost of matinee tickets.

On Monday night I got to be on DH’s radio show–he finally let me do something besides log the playlist! I got to announce all the public service stuff and queue up music! Still no Britney Spears ‘Toxic,’ but maybe next week.

Tuesday
Tuesday was an even bigger adventure. We started out in Tettegouche State Park:

Tettegouche has a unique suspension bridge. Only 5 people can be on it at a time and it’s a good thing, too. That thing really wobbles when you have a few people walking across it. The socks were very brave, though.

By the time we were finished with our 3-4 mile hike we were awfully hungry. We weren’t all that far from the famous Sven & Ole’s, so we decided to make the trek up to Grand Marais. Of course, there was a lot to see along the way. First stop was the Temperance River State Park:

Next came the highlight of the trip for us girls. We found a new-to-us yarn store, Tall Tale!

It was so much fun to look at yarns that we don’t carry in the LYS that I work at. In the end, I walked away with a crank-turn i-cord maker (yessss!) and Katie got some Bamboozle yarn that she’s going to turn into legwarmers. If I didn’t have so many socks lined up already, I definitely would have picked up a skein of sock yarn that I hadn’t tried before. That’s right, I’ve got some serious self control!

The boys were so patient while we were yarn shopping that we thought they deserved a treat. They rode the Alpine Slide at Lutsen.

I think they had a good time.

Our final State Park of the day was Cascade River. This was the all-around favorite of the day. It was just a quick hike in for an absolutely stunning view.

We’re fairly certain that all of the secrets to life’s mysteries are hidden within that whirling pool of water. It’s so much fun to watch the water going through the falls, because it folds underneath itself before turning and going down to the next fall. We stuck a stick in the water to feel the pull, and you would be in big trouble if you fell in! DH even found a tree to hug

We finished off the long day with plenty of tasty treats in Grand Marais. All in all, a very satisfying trip!

Thanks a ton to Katie’s boyfriend, Euan, who took almost all of the pictures you see in this post! What a photographer!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 2, 2008 10:04 pm

    Yay yay yay for our amazing day yesterday!! 🙂
    Have you been to YH lately?

Leave a Reply

