Skip to content

Training Wrap-Up

August 7, 2008

Hehe…sorry guys. I’ve been working a lot lately, so I’ve had very little time for knitting and even less for blogging. I didn’t come close to finishing my Olympic training goals, but I definitely made some progress.

1. Finish UFOs:
Lil” Beast Hoodie: completely knit and blocked. DH has decided to take over the embroidery and has it about halfway done.
Sandy Tote: finished knitting. It’s off to Sandy’s to be felted and will be modeling leather handles at the shop.
Molly’s Bridesmaid Gift: much farther, but not yet finished (sorry, Molly!).
Autumn Retro Rib Socks: first sock is finished. The second sock is cast on but hasn’t gotten very far.
Snuggle: finished much sooner than expected due to a yarn shortage. I was using stash, so I went with a shorter rim rather than buying more yarn.
Bolsa de Mechero bag: finished thanks to my hand-crank i-cord machine! This project took me two years and it’s finally done! Hopefully Jenna will be happy to see it when we see her in a few weeks.
Grandma’s Bag: attached handles and vetoed zipper (it just doesn’t look right). I’m going to need DH’s help patterning the lining as he’s taken a costume construction class.

2. Final Finishing Work: I’ve done some blocking, sent some bags off for felting (thanks, Sandy!), and have gotten things together to mail off.

3. Clean up the apartment: The apartment looks lots better, but I’m going to do some cleaning yet tonight so it’s spick and span for the beginning of the Olympics.

4. Write thank-you notes: I’ve begun writing, but this will be a long process. I’m going to work on them a bit at a time, as I would rather have them take longer and be heartfelt than get in the mail quicker but not express our gratitude.

5. Keep reading: I’ve been reading a lot lately, but not for book group. The Twilight Saga by Stephanie Meyer sucked me in. I’ve completed the first three books, but I’ll wait until a little later to read the latest (Breaking Dawn). I started the series to see what all the fuss was about and I ended up really enjoying it. Unfortunately, I’m only about fifty pages into The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay. I’ll have to work on that…

Good luck to those of you participating in the Ravelympics. I’ll be casting on my Ivy League Vest in just a few short hours now. A group of us are meeting at a coffeeshop/cafe to cast on promptly at seven o’clock a.m.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 8, 2008 4:52 pm

    It was great to see you this morning! Hope your Ivy League vest knits up swiftly. Good luck, Ravathlete! (Can we pretend that’s a word?)

Leave a Reply

