Skip to content

Olympic Kick-Off Weekend

August 12, 2008

The much-anticipated Ravelympics Games began last Friday morning. My 17-day challenge is Eunny Jang’s Ivy League Vest from the Winter 2007 edition of Interweave Knits. I’m knitting it out of Jamieson Shetland Spindrift, a fingering weight yarn, in blue tones.
The project itself is certainly not beyond me and doesn’t pose much of a challenge. It’s the time constraint that will really prove challenging. The fingering weight yarn and corrugated ribbing will definitely slow me down, but the fact that it doesn’t have any sleeves or seaming makes me feel much better about my chances of completing it before the torch goes out. Not to mention the gorgeous finished product: I’ve been wanting to knit this pattern since its publication, so this is a good kick in the pants to get it done quickly so that I can wear it!

A group of Team Yarn Harbor members met at a local cafe to cast on at exactly 7:00 a.m. when Opening Ceremonies began. We were a sleepy but very happy bunch!
People came and went from our early morning cast on party as work and children dictated, but we had six or seven of us all together. The party continued at the shop at 10:00. We had a great turnout of enthusiastic knitters coming and going all day. It proved to be an exhausting day at work, but I kept up the Olympic knitting with Katie while watching Gilmore Girls and Labyrinth and finally with DH and a coworker at a local bar while listening to some great live music. I didn’t get to bed until the wee hours, so day one of the Olympics was a loooong one for me.

Day two was even longer. I went to work at the shop expecting lots of customers and the rest of a recent shipment to put away. However, my work day was cut short when DH called and told me he had had a bicycle accident and needed me to come home. I made sure that I could leave right away and got a ride with a regular customer (if you’re reading this, thank you so much!). I came home to a very confused husband who was holding a t-shirt to the gash in his chin. He was talking in circles and I could see that we needed to go to the hospital. After a long search for his wallet (with no help from him, even though he was trying to be helpful) we got to the hospital. After 4 stitches, 1 CAT scan, and countless times telling him that I didn’t know what he hit and I had indeed called into work for him, I brought home a patched up husband. He still doesn’t know what happened to him, but he is doing much better now.

Thanks to DH’s accident, I’ve gotten a fair amount of Olympic knitting done.
I knit while waiting around in the ER and nearly finished the corrugated ribbing. When I brought DH to work on Monday (no driving for him!) I didn’t want to just drop him off in case he wasn’t feeling well enough to stay. I hung out in the cafe and knit while listening to an audio book. I’m now a good way into the fair isle pattern, but I only have blurry pictures to show for it! I’ll try for a better photo shoot soon.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2008 7:05 pm

    Oh wow, that is looking gorgeous so far! I hate knitting corrugated ribbing! I love the way it looks but don’t like executing it! I can’t wait to see it finished!!

  2. August 13, 2008 5:13 pm

    Oh my gosh, how scary about Steve’s accident! And that he doesn’t know what happened – eek! Hopefully he didn’t knock anything in his noggin permanently loose. I too had a bike accident on Saturday – went careening down the hill with no brakes, nearly smashed by a sedan before flipping over a curb. I must not have smacked my head as hard as Steve though – he sounds a lot worse off. Hopefully all is well soon. Take care, and keep knitting!

  3. August 13, 2008 10:03 pm

    Steve is not allowed to come climb for awhile, let him know. The ribbing looks beautiful! I’ll see you soon hopefully. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Crunch Time « Red Knits

Leave a Reply

