Skip to content

Best. Mittens. Ever!

January 19, 2009

After such a long break in blogging, I have to wonder if anyone is still out there…drop a line in the comments if you’re still reading! I’m coming to the end of a very satisfactory winter break. I’ll be wrapping up a few things around the house before I gear up for the first day of spring semester classes tomorrow.

In knitting news, I may quite possibly have created the best mittens in the entire world. They’ve taken me through the recent cold snap (you don’t even want to know how cold Duluth, MN gets in a cold snap…) with grace and ease. Brace yourself for Beth Brown-Reinsel’s “Yummy Mittens.”

That’s right, they are two mittens attached at the cuff so that they are double thick! She has you cast-on provisionally, knit the inside mitten, and then pick up the cast-on and knit in the other direction for the cuff and outer mitten. If that wasn’t enough, Beth also includes instructions for short-row shaping on the back of the hand that means the mitten conforms perfectly to the shape of a relaxed hand. I made my pair extra-yummy and extra-warm by using a very soft yarn on the inside and the warmest, most durable yarn that I could find for the outside.

Pattern: Yummy Mittens by Beth Brown-Reinsel
Yarn: Bristol Yarn Gallery King George and Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Worsted-1 skein each
Needles:US 3, 5, 6
Timeline: 21 November 2008-14 December 2008
Worst Part: Knitting the cuff that never ends in 1×1 rib with Ptbl
Best Part: Toasty hands on chilly days

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2009 7:35 pm

    Ooh, those looks awesomely warm! Those would be handy during this Boston winter too! Brrr.

  2. January 19, 2009 8:21 pm

    I love keeping up with you and your knitting! You continue to impress me, and put my knitting to shame.

  3. January 19, 2009 8:23 pm

    Those are so cool! It doesn’t get cold enough here (Philly) for mittens like those, but they sure look cozy. Yum.

  4. January 20, 2009 6:23 am

    I may have to make some like that. My (non-winter camping) mittens didn’t hold up through the cold snap even a little bit.

  5. January 20, 2009 1:27 pm

    The mittens are beautiful! I’m in SE MN, so I know how cold it can be. I’ve never lived up north, though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

