Skip to content

First Day

January 20, 2009

First of all, thanks for everyone who said hello in the comments yesterday. I love hearing from you and it definitely makes me want to blog more often.

Needless to say, today is pretty special. I didn’t work this morning, so DH and I were able to watch the live feed of the Inauguration. It was exciting to see so many fresh faces ready to get to work and make a much-needed difference.

Today is also special because it is my last first day of school as an undergraduate student. Sure, I have a lot of graduate work ahead, but there’s a certain ‘off’ feeling about today that I can’t put my finger on. Maybe it’s part of that whole becoming a grown-up thing. It was also odd because I’m the only one of my close group of friends who returned to school today, as the rest of them have graduated as of December.

Anyway, it’s back to these:

I’m continuing to study French and I’m also taking some digital writing classes to round out my Minor. Not a single literature class in sight…what’s a bookish girl to do? I’m hoping these computer classes will provide even more encouragement to keep developing and improving this blog. The first assignment for the class I attended this afternoon promises to be exciting, so I’m sure you’ll hear more about it as I work on it.

While watching Psych with the usual crowd last night, I finished off the second of these:
To paraphrase Julie of F.L.O.C.K., there is a dire need for adult size hats, mittens, and gloves in this area. Can you imagine what it would be like to be homeless during the winter in someplace this cold? The friends at our place last night agreed that if we were homeless here, we would start walking South as soon as we could! Anyway, I’m using all the yarn bits that I have around the stash to knit up as many hats as I can to keep people warm around here.

Pattern: Turn-a-Square Hat by Jared Flood of Brooklyn Tweed
Yarn: Scraps of Plymouth Encore Worsted Weight
Needles:US 5, 6
Timeline: 12-19 January 2009
Worst Part: Not knitting fast enough to make even more of these
Best Part: Helping to keep someone a little bit warmer

As soon as I finished those, I cast on another hat in a different pattern so that I would have something with me on campus today.
I hope I can keep pumping these out quickly. After all, they’re a great mindless, portable project.

The orange solid yarn that you see in the first two hats is left over from this lovely little project:
This is the Pumpkin Pie Aran that I knit along with my class in the fall. I don’t seem to get tired of this pattern! I plan to teach the class again next month as it was such a success in November.

Pattern: Aran Pullover by Melanie Falick and Kristen Nicholas, 3 month size
Yarn: 1.5 skeins of Plymouth Encore Worsted Weight #456
Needles:US 5, 7
Timeline: 3 November 2008-3 January 2009
Worst Part: Taking much too long to sew on the darn buttons
Best Part: Teaching my very first knitting class!

In a little while I’m off to my first night class ever and then rushing down to the dance studio to teach a swing dancing class. My feet are ready to go!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

