Skip to content

Inspiration Around the Corner

January 21, 2009

Sometimes I’m surprised at what non-knitters know about the knitting world. Last night in my graphic design class we had to do the regular introduction stuff but talk about an interesting cultural thing that we had noticed over winter break. I mentioned the book that I’ve been enthralled with for a few weeks now, The Gentle Art of Domesticity. The interplay of color and texture in this book is so inspirational and it leads me to notice the artistic in the everyday. My (a little older, male-not to stereotype) professor then began to tell the class about knit graffiti and the punk knitting movement! Some of the guys in my class got really excited about some online photos they found during the break. Who knew knitting could be so popular with a crowd of non-knitters?

After a few hours of teaching and dancing, we stopped by a restaurant to celebrate the return of a good friend who has been out of the state for a few months. On my way out to the parking ramp, I found a few of these:

These little beauties are new to the walls since the last time I’d been in the building. Again, domesticity as art!

I didn’t knit through my geology class today even though I expect to for the rest of the semester, but I did finish another homeless hat:
Pattern: Seaman’s Cap by Brenda Zuk
Yarn: Scraps of Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Worsted in Lemon Drop
Needles:US 6, 7
Timeline: 20-21 January 2009
Worst Part: Not knitting fast enough to make even more of these
Best Part: Helping to keep someone a little bit warmer

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

