Skip to content

The Bug is Back

January 28, 2009

I’ve noticed my drive slipping away as I’ve been in college. When I was in high school, I felt like I was doing everything while enjoying it and managing my time. Now that I’m in college, I feel like I have gained focus but lost out on some of my drive to do well as well as my interest in pursuing outside interests.

Some of that came back recently and I couldn’t be happier to see it. I’m feeling so free. Free to Create. To Play. To Make Mistakes. I don’t have to rationalize an interest it to pursue it and be happy in the process.

To this end, I’m going to try to bring some of the spontenaeity into my life. To work towards my goals but also to explore and keep my options open. I’d hate to look back at a single-track life in ten years and realize that I was on the wrong track.

I’m finding inspiration all around me. At work this morning I shelved books in the arts and crafts section, which sparked my interest. I sketched in my design class last night and I felt inspired to ask my husband for drawing lessons again. I’m working on a creative writing project that encourages me to work on this blog and perhaps start a personal journal. Working with graphic design software makes me realize that I can be an amateur and still create beautiful, meaningful things. Letting go on the dance floor may seem silly, but it also means that I can explore moves that I normally wouldn’t do but that look even better when I let go of my insecurities. There are so many outlets for creative expression that deserve exploration.

I’m seeing the world with fresh eyes, and it is full of possibilities. Possibilities that I am going to embrace. What has inspired you today?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

