Skip to content

Sprouting Up

January 31, 2009

I have quite a few large projects in the works that really need to be sat down and dealt with. Nonetheless, a few little projects have sprouted up around here recently.


This blurry picture shows the cuff of my Raspberry Creme Ullared Cap. The pattern is from the book Hats On! by Charlene Schurch, which seems to continually go in and out of print. Every time that we actually have it in the store, I put off buying it because I don’t have a pressing need for a hat pattern. Then it becomes unavailable and I worry I’ll never be able to get it again. When we got this inexpensive little book back in stock I immediately bought it and cast on for this cap.


I’ve also cast on some Valentine’s Day socks for my Sweetie. This photo is out of date, as I’m now grafting the first toe, but it shows the pattern better than any other photos that I’ve taken. It’s a worsted weight version of the Twin Rib from Sensational Knitted Socks, also by Charlene Schurch.

The first sock was knitted almost entirely in geology lecture, but the second sock will take me a little more time. After consulting with a few friends, I’ve decided to chart out a textured heart pattern to knit into the bottom of the heel! That way it won’t bother him to wear but when he puts his feet up while he lounges around the house that heart will be visible on the bottom of his foot. Charting into a heel turn is proving challenging, but I think I’ll be able to get it together.

In non-knitting news, I’ve had a very satisfying couple of days. I was introduced to the distributed novel Implementation in class on thursday and I’ve been tickled with the idea ever since. It amazes me how there can be so many ways to experience a work and all of them can be right. New media is fascinating and I’m so excited to explore and be a part of it.

The dance scene has been pretty good this week. My partner and I decided to forego the usual last night and check out a country band. It turned out to be great–we were definitely the youngest ones on the floor and I got to hear “The Devil Went Down to Georgia” live, which pretty much made my night!

Tonight was another great salsa class by a talented teacher–I’m learning so much from her. The friend that I’m taking the class with and I are really feeling like we’re progressing quickly and getting to know the ladies who teach it well. I think we may be becoming their proteges!

This weekend will be a little less dancing than normal and a little more business. I’m putting together my graduate school application and preparing for the GRE as well as the usual classwork.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

