Skip to content

Committed

February 9, 2009

I signed up for the GRE (Graduate Record Examination) last weekend.

This is why there is no knitting to show today.

I began the application for my Master of Arts program last week.

This is why there is no knitting to show today.

I’ve gone dancing every night for the past six nights to sweat out some stress and keep physically active.

This is why there is no knitting to show today.

Get the picture? I’m not stressed in the usual way. I know that I’ll do well on the GRE and I know that I’ll get accepted to graduate school (if not this year, than sometime in the future…). More than anything else, I feel like I’m being pulled in a lot of directions and am struggling to keep all of my metaphorical balls in the air.

I have of course, been knitting through all of this to keep me sane. The Valentine socks are complete besides grafting the toe and possibly doing some embroidery work, but I’ve decided not to do a photo shoot until they can be modeled by my Sweetie. That is, if I can manage to get them finished without him seeing and asking what I’m working on.

The Ullared Cap continues to progress and is now my geology lecture project. I’m almost to the point of decreasing, but it’s a good thing that I haven’t gotten there yet, because I left my dpns at home.

Oh! I do have knitting to show today!
The 9″ HiyaHiya needles that I’ve been harassing my LYSO about for a while arrived at our shop last week! They’re like knitting with wee little pixie needles! I’ve transferred the prototype legwarmers to them and am feeling much better about the whole laddering situation. I think I’ll pull out this project tonight on my study breaks.

For now, it’s back to the grindstone–I’ll be doing 2 hours of GRE study a day 6 days a week until March 7 while doing the regular classwork, completing my M.A. application, writing my honors thesis, and trying to maintain a bit of a social life. If you don’t hear from me for a stretch every once in a while, I’ve probably got my nose in a book!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

