Skip to content

A Pretty Great Weekend

February 17, 2009

It’s been a pretty wonderful weekend after my crappy week last week.

Visit
Katie stopped by the yarn shop while I was working and dropped off a pretty little get-well gift.

Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool color #75

If that perky pink doesn’t make me feel better, I don’t know what would. I haven’t decided what I’ll do with this yet, but it’s going to be yummy, whatever it is.

Thursday Night Dancing
I was able to get in some quality dancing on Thursday night. We checked out the usual swing night for Jenelle’s last night in town before spending a week in Vermont. We then had to see what the band Groove, Inc. was all about–they turned out to be a lot of fun to dance to and we stayed until the very end.

I ended up getting some new dancing shoes after the Wednesday night toenail incident. They’re closed-toe heels for latin dancing and protection from dangerous leads and they happened to be a great deal at DSW!

Early Valentine’s
Sweetie and I had to celebrate Valentine’s Day a little early since we worked opposite shifts on the fourteenth. We went out for a late dinner after my salsa class on Friday evening and it was absolutely lovely. Sweetie had a gluten-free beer that I could actually see myself drinking-quite a feat since I rarely drink beer.

Sweetie liked his gift and he got me something awfully nice.

nickyknits gauge bookmark and The Essential Guide to Color Knitting Techniques
I’ve wanted this book since it came out. Our shop’s resident color expert, who holds an art degree, says it is like an entire color theory class. I’ve actually avoided looking through this book because I knew that I would like it too much not to take it home. Now I just need to find the time to give it the good, thorough read that it deserves.

Animals
Saturday was my shop’s annual benefit for the local humane society. The owner donates all of the proceeds from the day to the shelter. There were a few dogs there throughout the day, but my favorite was Joan’s new kitten.

The other special visitor of the day was designer Nancy Lindberg, who stopped by to drop off some of her patterns and pick up some yarn. I didn’t get much of a chance to talk to her, but it was neat to meet another popular designer.

Valentine’s Swing Dance & Masquerade
I’ve been excited for dancing on Valentine’s Day all week. We started off at one of the local universities, whose jazz band put on a swing dance. A friend and I were asked to teach basic lessons during set breaks and we got to dress up! In fact, we had to do a photo shoot and give an interview for the school paper. We’re slated to be on the front of their Art & Entertainment section.

Afterwards, we went to a masquerade at the lounge that we usually salsa at. We spent way too much time at the craft store pondering themes for our masks, especially considering that we couldn’t quite handle dancing with the tiny eyeholes.

In addition to the masks, we incorporated some temporary tattoos. I had a bird on my neck, but my partner’s was way more awesome.

Monday Finishing
Tonight I blocked a sweater that’s been sitting around for much too long. It’s a shop sample project that I’ve had the knitting done on for a while and have just been waiting for some time at home and some space on the floor to lay it out.

This project brings up a good point. Yes, LYS employees are lucky to be able to knit (when time permits) at work, but it’s rarely my own projects that I’m working on. Our owner keeps me pretty busy with store samples that feature new yarns, patterns, etc. It’s kind of like knitting a swatch–even though you’re technically knitting, you’d rather be doing real knitting, you know?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

