Skip to content

We Now Return to Our Regularly Scheduled Programming

March 7, 2009

The GRE is out of my life. From the scores I got immediately following the exam, I did fairly well. Well enough for entrance into my program. And the essay portion, which won’t be scored for another two weeks, felt really good–I’ll be surprised if I don’t have a high score there.

I believe I promised to bring some knitting content today. Don’t worry, I haven’t forgotten!

Double Knitting
As I mentioned before, I’m taking a class on double knitting in the shop where I work. It’s being taught by one of my favorite knitters in the area, who is also extremely talented at both knitting and teaching. We’re beginning with some swatches and we’ll eventually be designing a headband or hat. Today we worked on double knitting flat (vs in the round).

The “right side” of the swatch

Both sides of the swatch, so you can see both the positive and negative images

This is my first real attempt at double knitting and I think it’s going pretty well so far. I’m going to keep practicing over the week so hopefully my tension will even out a bit.

My high expectations for this class have definitely been met. In fact, this class is so exciting that she had to add a second section to accomodate the level of interest. And quite a few of the other instructors from our shop are taking the class, including the owner!

Finishing
With spring break approaching, I’m hoping to wrap up some loose ends around here and finish a few projects that are really close. That, combined with some finished projects that haven’t yet had photo shoots and the nice weather we’ve been having around here mean that you should see some FOs around here shortly.

This bad boy got a bath tonight.
And then I beat it with a spatula. I can’t find anything online about beating stranded knitting to block it, but many regulars at the shop say it fixes a multitude of colorwork problems and makes the whole project look more finished. Basically, you just hit the project a bunch with a spoon (or spatula) while it’s still wet.

We’ll see how the photo shoot goes for this one. It’s looking like the hat will be a little bigger than I had hoped.

On the agenda for tonight: relax at home with a movie and some knitting, then go out for lots of dancing and a celebratory happy drink!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

