Skip to content

Sock Innovation

March 29, 2009

Cookie A’s new book, Sock Innovation, just came out. If you haven’t seen it yet, go look. I’ll wait.

Amazing, right?

I’ve been looking for a third class to teach this summer and decided that this book would be just the thing. Lucky for me, my LYSO agreed. It will be a choose-your-own kind of class, where students can pick any of Cookie’s fifteen fabulous designs and we’ll work through them together.

I’ve knit quite a few socks in my day, but I’ve decided to take this class on as a personal challenge. I have a little under fifteen weeks until the tentative first day of my class. I’d like to get at least one sock in each pair finished before the class begins. That’s one design every week, and I think I’m up to the challenge. I’m especially ready for it since I haven’t had socks on the needles for a little while. I’m able to knit a pair of socks in a weekend if I try, so knitting a single sock in a week shouldn’t be too much of a stretch. Watch me eat my words in a few weeks…

First up is Angee out of this lovely stuff:


It’s Araucania Ranco Solid #105. I picked it out yesterday and decided, with my fellow LYSW, to use it for the Angee design. I’ll probably end up casting on during a study break tonight–I’m too excited to avoid its seductive glances!

Double Knitting
Of course, I’ve got plenty of other projects going on right now as evidenced by the gargantuan bag that I was hauling to and from the LYS this weekend. I ripped out and re-worked my project for the Double Knitting class:


I completely changed gears on this project as the first one was much too big. I chose a different chart and cast on fewer stitches. I’ve gotten to the point where I’m ready to bind off but can’t find the right bind off to match my cast on nicely. Luckily, the instructor for this course gave us her email address so I don’t have to wait until I see her again to get an answer.

Pop Up Paws: Now with Two Thumbs!

I’m afraid these haven’t gotten a whole lot farther. However, I’m sure I’ll finish them by the end of knitting club tomorrow night.

So many wonderful things to knit and so much homework pulling me away from them! I’m off to finish revising a paper for submission to a Medieval Humanities essay contest. Nothing says fun like Chaucer in the original Middle English! Sadly, I’m only half kidding…Happy knitting!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2009 10:01 pm

    I can relate to the comment about the conflict between homework and knitting…but my fun is organizational behavior and job satisfaction. My thesis is that jobs would be far more satisfying if they all involved knitting.

  2. March 31, 2009 6:44 pm

    i’m looking forward to seeing your socks from the book. cookie has some excellent designs.

  3. Molly permalink
    April 10, 2009 8:48 am

    So I just realized that beautiful pine colored backdrop is my old desk! Aw I’m so proud to see it has such a happy home. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. In which I prefer coffee to rocks « Red Knits
  2. Wasabi Sake Socks | Red Knits
  3. UFO Mondays: The Big One | Red Knits
  4. UFO Mondays: Vilai and Milo | Red Knits
  5. UFO Mondays: Lindsay | Red Knits
  6. UFO Mondays: Lindsay and Wanida | Red Knits
  7. UFO Mondays: Wanida and Kristi | Red Knits
  8. UFO Mondays: Washcloths and Bex | Red Knits
  9. Sock Innovation | Red Knits

Leave a Reply

