Skip to content

Mommy-Kitty Bonding

April 28, 2009

My little black cat is very sweet, but she has never been one to cuddle. The best she normally does is sit on the back of the same couch as me, just out of reach.

Sunday was different. I had a long day, working 12-5 at the shop and an 8:30-2am inventory at my other job. I decided that napping would only make me feel groggy, so I settled in to watch TV and knit on the Lily of the Valley scarf between jobs. For some inexplicable reason, Evie chose to join me.


around 6:00


and around 7:30

She even crawled back into my lap when I had to get up for a few minutes to take care of something! I don’t know what this was all about, but I hope it happens again. Knitting with a warm, sleepy kitty in your lap is pretty much bliss.

And the next morning, she was still in adorable mode:
That’s the 7 Things cardigan, finally blocking. It’s actually the reason I had to move Evie from my lap. Our sink has a leak and apparently the little drain holes don’t actually drain, so when I left a full sink of water sitting for a while it eventually overflowed onto the floor. Oh, well.

Not a whole lot more to go on this cardigan, so perhaps I’ll take care of it tomorrow before I leave town for the weekend–more on that later.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 2, 2009 6:13 am

    Evie is so sweet. She is the exact color of our Black Pearl, now gone. We called him coffee-colored – he looked black, but brown is hiding in there adding a depth of hue.

Leave a Reply

