Skip to content

Brave New World

May 12, 2009

“O wonder!
How many goodly creatures are there here!
How beautious mankind is!
O brave new world,
That has such people in’t!”
~The Tempest V.i

You know that odd feeling you get when you’re meeting someone for the first time that you know you will become very close to in the future? You know nothing about this person yet but the two of you are sure to go through great ups and downs together.Perhaps you will even come to consider this person as your best friend or, at the other extreme, your greatest rival. Your paths are certain to be intertwined, but at the moment you are nothing more than strangers.

That’s the feeling that I had at the English department party on Saturday as I was being introduced to my new office mates.

That’s right. All of my studying, writing, and revising in the last few months paid off. I’ve been accepted into graduate school and I’ve been offered a teaching assistantship in the writing studies department that will allow me to attend. I am incredibly excited for the adventure that lies ahead.

I couldn’t have gotten to this point without the help of my academic advisor, so I knit up a lace scarf to thank her for everything she’s done for me over the past year.

If it weren’t for her, I wouldn’t have discovered the joy of studying Chaucer and Middle English.

If it weren’t for her, I don’t know if I would have pursued graduate studies at this school. I certainly wouldn’t have realized all of the options available to me.

If it weren’t for her, I likely would not have submitted my paper for a contest…and won!

If it weren’t for her guidance and encouragement throughout the application process, as well as her letter of recommendation, I wouldn’t have been accepted into the program and received a teaching assistantship.

My sincerest thanks go out to her and this intricate scarf is only a small token of my gratitude. I look forward to spending the next two years learning all I can from her.

Pattern: Lily of the Valley Scarf from Knitted Lace of Estonia by Nancy Bush
Yarn: two skeins Bristol Yarn Gallery Buckingham #1850
Needles: US 2 24″ Addi Lace
Made for: My academic advisor
Timeline: April 22-May 11 2009
Modifications: none
Worst Part: The first repeat of the pattern, before I got in the swing of things, was a bit of a nightmare.
Best Part: Showing my advisor how much I appreciate her help.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2009 4:49 pm

    That scarf is gorgeous. The pattern is beautiful, and the yarn is perfect! I love the photoshoot too. Congratulations on your acceptance to grad school AND a teaching position!

  2. avarra permalink
    May 15, 2009 3:59 pm

    Congratulations and the best wishes for your future!

    And yes, the scarf is gorgeous! I guess I finally have to get the book 😉

    Yours,
    Avarra

Leave a Reply

