Skip to content

For Feet

June 22, 2009

I’m starting to get a little twitchy without regular internet access, but Sweetie is shopping around for the best provider in our area, so it should be over soon. In the meantime, forgive me for how irregularly I’m reading your blogs and posting to my own.

I’ve been knitting rather furiously and have a few projects to show you.

Cozy Baby Booties
One pair went to Vermont with my friend for her new little niece and the other pair will go in the mail to my cousin’s new daughter. In fact, they should have gone in the mail today, but the line at the post office was wicked long after I got off of work.

Pattern: Baby Booties to Knit in the Portugese Style by Andrea Wong in the Jan/Feb 2009 Piecework
Yarn: one skein Dale of Norway Stork #3 Pale Yellow to make both pairs
Needles: US 1 Susan Bates dpns (but they are knit back and forth and seamed)
Made for: Two little ones
Timeline: June 1-15 2009
Modifications: I definitely did not knit these in the Portugese style.
Worst Part: They turned out a little bigger than I would have liked. And I neglected to read part of the pattern and had to rip out a bunch of the first one, but that’s my own fault!
Best Part: I love things for baby feet-so cute!

Sunshine
The first Sunshine sock is complete. I won’t be finishing the pair for the ravelry knitalong, as it’s getting close to my Sock Innovation class and I still have a lot of socks to knit.

Pattern: Sunshine from Sock Innovation by Cookie A
Yarn: one skein Araucania Itata Solid #2005
Needles: US 0 Boye dpns
Made for: Me & Class Sample
Timeline: June 1-17 2009 for sock #1
Modifications: none
Worst Part: Not getting these done as quickly as I would have liked.
Best Part: The bright, cheerful color.

And in other parts of life….
Yesterday was our first wedding anniversary. We decided to stay in for some delicious root beer floats and pizza.
And I recently got my fall teaching schedule–it’s starting to sink in that I’m really going to do this. It’s odd to see my name on the same schedule as many of the professors that I’ve taken classes from in the past. I’m trying to mentally adjust as much as I can this summer, but I know that it will still be a shock in the fall when I go from undergraduate student to a teaching role in the department.

Well, folks, it’s been swell to pop in and see you again. I think I’ll start walking home before the thunderstorms roll in. It should be a good night to stay in and knit. I hope you get to do the same!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2009 9:13 pm

    Happy Anniversary!! I have to admit, I’m a little surprised there was no mention of the cardigan… or the yummy Misti Alpaca that was just too tempting… šŸ˜›

  2. Molly permalink
    July 2, 2009 3:32 pm

    Oh my god… so I just had to do a search on the UMD class schedule to see your name for myself. It’s really there. Congratulations!!! I hope all is going well with you kids. I miss you both. Say hi to E for me. I miss the threat of being pounced on while sleeping.

Leave a Reply

