Skip to content

Sock-a-day

July 7, 2009

What began as a sock-a-week challenge has turned into a sock-a-day challenge in the final week!

After I posted last week I nearly finished the cuff on Eunice before going to work at the shop. I was able to begin the heel flap at work, but had lots of other things to attend to. I went swing and blues dancing after work and continued the heel flap in bed while winding down.

At home on Friday morning I finished the heel flap, turned the heel, and shaped the gusset. I went to work at the bookstore early since Sweetie’s shift started several hours before mine, so I chatted with the boys on their breaks and finished Eunice.
This sock is among my favorites so far and the squishy Jitterbug yarn certainly helps!

I worked at the bookstore on Friday night and knit Bex at the Thirsty Pagan with friends and later watching a movie.

The yarn shop was open on Saturday, but was pretty quiet. I spent the day with Sandy and Julie and managed to finish Bex.
Bex isn’t necessarily difficult, but it’s definitely the most intricate and time-consuming pattern in Sock Innovation as far as I’m concerned. I love the way that the Regia Silk feels, but it was a little too ‘splitty’ for cabling without a cable needle.

I didn’t expect to finish Bex while still at work, so I was able to start Milo in the evening and knit the majority of the leg while avoiding both crowds and fireworks by watching movies at home on the 4th. I kept working on Milo at the shop on Sunday and finished it in the wee hours.

I had a bit of insomnia, probably due to the heat and cigarette smoke coming in through our open window, so I started on Vilai late at night. I had high hopes for knitting on Monday, as I had the entire day off, but some hand and wrist pain got in the way. I did a bit of knitting by the lake while a Tall Ship came in.
There’s a much better photo of the ship right next to the bridge with Vilai in the shot, but it’s trapped in my phone since my camera battery died when the ship came close enough to photograph well. C’est la vie.

So this is where I’m at right now:
I’m just beginning the heel flap on Vilai and hoping to finish her and start Rick today. I’m out and about knitting today so as to avoid napping in the tempting summer breeze. And I’ll be at Kathy’s Knitting 101 class tonight knitting along and observing the way she teaches the class so that I can imitate her when I teach it next month.

That’s all for now. 2 1/2 socks to go and I’ve completed the challenge. Wish me luck and freedom from repetitive strain injuries!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2009 11:33 am

    You can do it!! If anyone’s cut for finishing them, you are! Tell that silly pain to go away. If you need ice cream later to help with the pain, let me know.

  2. sarah lehto permalink
    July 7, 2009 8:58 pm

    Go Cheryl! The socks look beautiful! Congrats on just about finishing your challenge!

Trackbacks

  1. UFO Mondays: Vilai and Milo | Red Knits
  2. UFO Mondays: Washcloths and Bex | Red Knits

Leave a Reply

