Skip to content

Uh Oh

July 16, 2009

I’ve been knitting like a fiend on my Aeolian Shawl, and as I knit the edging I watched the yarn dwindle away. I kept knitting just to see how far along I could get, but sure enough…

…I ran out of yarn less than 4 1/2 rows before the bind off. Granted, those 4 1/2 rows have a whole lot of stitches and the bind off is done with yarn doubled, but it’s still a bummer.

As soon as I stepped into the shop this morning, I checked the Ella Rae Lace Merino for another skein, as I hadn’t set one aside for myself like I usually do. Of course, that meant the universe had to go bite me in the bum and there wasn’t another of the same colorway. It’ll be at least two weeks, probably longer, until I can get another skein and get cruising on this shawl again. Too bad, as I was looking forward to doing a finished photo shoot sometime soon.

Fortunately, I have something else to keep me occupied.

I’ve been eyeing up Sublime Stitching by Jenny Hart for some time now and picked it up the other day. I then dropped by the Hancock Fabrics for some supplies to make cute little handkerchiefs to take along when I go dancing.

I read through the book and started in on the “stitch lesson” in the wee hours this morning when I was up with insomnia. Jenny does exactly what she sets out to do: she starts from the very beginning of embroidery technique and provides some great transfer patterns as a jumping off point. Even if I just stick with the patterns in her book, I should be entertained for a while.

Just what I need, another hobby. I can see my mom rolling her eyes as she reads this. But it’s an easy hobby that I don’t have to look at a pattern to do-definitely a plus.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Red's Mom permalink
    July 16, 2009 8:37 pm

    YOUR mother?…Rolling her eyes?…By jove, I think you’ve got her pegged!

    Actually I just finished an embroidery project of my own…something which just might turn out to be one of your Christmas projects! Or WILL it? Hmmmmmm…..

Trackbacks

  1. Aeolian Shawlette « Red Knits
  2. The Knitalongs Abound « Red Knits

Leave a Reply

