Skip to content

Birdie Hankie

July 17, 2009

Last night, I came home from working at the shop all day and did not pick up my knitting. Instead I happily embroidered my way through a couple of hours and ended up with this darling handkerchief.

I hemmed up some bleached muslin to a 10″ x 10″ square and used a chain stitch to embroider this little bird from Sublime Stitching out of Sullivans embroidery floss (numbers 995, 349, 310, and 972). It’s not perfect by any means-it has a lot of knots since I wanted the chain stitches to go in the same direction as feathers would-but it’s a good start.

There’ll be lots more of these hankies in my future and I look forward to trying new stitches as I go.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

