Skip to content

Reynolds Revisited

July 19, 2009

A few years ago, Sweetie and I picked out yarn to knit a cardigan that I had been admiring for quite some time. It was the first adult-size sweater that I had ever cast on, but if anyone had tried to talk me out of the pattern I’m sure I didn’t listen. However, the pattern really was poorly written. Among other problems, it called for colorwork knitted flat. In my humble opinion, there is no knitting more miserable than attempting to do stranded colorwork on a purl row in stockinette stitch.

For this reason and more the sweater sat unfinished for years. It was my oldest work in progress and it filled me with guilt.

Lately I’ve been evaluating all of my projects and doing what I need to do to finish them before I begin graduate school in the fall. I don’t need a bunch of stuck projects taking up valuable mental, emotional, and physical space during this next stage of life.

Yesterday morning at the shop I made the decision to rip out the unfinished cardigan and use the yarn for a new sweater. I chose some different contrast colors and a new pattern, packed up the pieces of my cardigan and all my needles for swatching to go to the house at which we were dog sitting, and settled in for an evening of frogging.


It really was nearly completed-the back, both fronts, and the majority of one sleeve were finished. However, the colorwork was poorly done (my early work…) and I didn’t want to do the rest of the knitting or the finishing work. Even if I had completed the cardigan, I don’t think I would have worn the finished sweater enough to make the trouble worthwhile.

The new plan is much better.

The main color is what I ripped out from the other sweater and I won the dark brown at the knit out a few years back, so I only had to buy three skeins of yarn to get a whole new sweater. I’m knitting an XS at a slightly smaller gauge to get a finished chest size of about 36 1/2″ as I don’t want to be swimming in it.

I’m calling this new sweater ‘Heima’ after the film by the band Sigur Ròs. If you haven’t seen this film yet, you should. The music is lovely and the sweaters alone (not to mention the landscape) will make you want to jet off to Iceland straightaway!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

