Skip to content

Intruder

July 23, 2009

Last night began like a lot of other nights around here. Sweetie and I invited a few friends over for dinner (grilled chicken stir-fry…yum!), we watched a movie, and I knit. I’ve almost finished the body of the Heima sweater, see?


Anyway, we were all enjoying our relaxing little evening in when we noticed the cat with her paws up on the window. We looked up to see what she was after and found a bat. Not on the outside of the window, either. Apparently there was a hole in the screen that we hadn’t noticed and it had gotten stuck between the screen and the window pane. Which was open. Right next to my knitting spot.

I screamed a lot.

I didn’t even take this picture-I couldn’t bring myself to come that close, even when the window was shut and the bat couldn’t possibly come into the apartment and eat me alive.

I retreated to our bedroom where I spent a good deal of time  petting yarn to make me feel better while the menfolk tried to take care of the visitor. One of them suggested they let it into the apartment and catch it there, to which I threatened to kill all three of them if they went with that plan.

In the end, they went with inaction, letting the bat be so it could it find its own way out the way it got in. And named it Edward.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Red's Mom permalink
    July 23, 2009 9:06 pm

    Eeeewwwwww – I absolutely HATE bats – guess that’s where you get it from! Glad to hear that the menfolk took care of the nasty little critter (or rather, DIDN’T take care of it) and you were able to deal with your anxiety as any self-respecting knitter would! Has Edward fled to a more inviting home yet? Has Evie been able to drag herself away from the window? Yuck – I’m definitely going to have nightmares tonight!

  2. July 23, 2009 9:41 pm

    Hahaha I like this version of the telling better than Steve’s. Way to keep your cool about it! I’m sure Edward was just as scared of you as you were of him… 🙂

Leave a Reply

