Skip to content

Aeolian Shawlette

September 10, 2009

I’ve finally blocked my Aeolian shawlette! I’ve had this one off the needles for quite a while now, but I didn’t have either the time during daylight or the free floor space to block it until last weekend.

I thought I would save this garment for dressier occasions, but I ended up wearing it all day today despite the warm weather because I was in chilly classrooms (that have no windows–I’m really going to miss the sun!).

The beads are probably what make it feel dressy to me. However, I think it works with a more everyday look, don’t you?

This is the smaller size of the pattern, and I think it’s just the right size for my frame. Any bigger and I would be swimming in it, and certainly not wearing it.

Pattern: Aeolian Shawl by Elizabeth Freeman from Knitty
Yarn: 1.24 skeins Ella Rae Lace Merino #103
Needles: US 2 Addi Lace
Made for: Me
Timeline: June 7-September 7 2009
Modifications: change in yarn and needle sizes
Worst Part: Running out of yarn.
Best Part: Knitting with beads. It was a new technique for me, and I could see using it again in the future.

In non-knitting news, graduate school is off to a great start. Classes have begun and I’ve taught my first College Writing class. I’m still adjusting to this concept of being both student and ‘professor’ in the same institution. I should be pretty settled in after next week, as that’s when I start tutoring in the Writing Workshop. It looks like I have an exciting, stimulating two years ahead of me.

The knitting has suffered as I adjust to my new schedule, but I’m still fitting in some knitting breaks here and there. My current project is a small blanket for my chilly office, but I’ll share that another day.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Wendy permalink
    September 11, 2009 5:23 am

    Very Pretty! It looks like it is the perfect size.

Leave a Reply

