Skip to content

The Optimistic Knitter

September 25, 2009

It’s starting to feel like fall, and you know what that means…


…time for fall knitting!

Now that just about all the fall knitting magazines seem to be out, I’ve managed to compile my master fall knitting queue. I’m warning you now, there are a lot of sweaters! That’s not because I’m completely insane, but because my new teaching position means I could use a bit of a wardrobe re-vamp. Also, I tend to prefer fall designs to winter designs, so I’ll likely be knitting off this queue for a while. Still, I know I’ll only get to knit some of these, but it’s fun to dream.

From Interweave Knits:

First up is Veronik Avery’s Nordique Swing. This one was love at first sight, as it’s teacher-y and suits my style. I’m going to use Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool in a navy blue.

I also love the Frejya Sweater. I was skeptical about the colors with my skin tone, but the sweater looked lovely on a redhead in the IK gallery. We’ll see when I get to this sweater: I may stick with the original color scheme or I might do something completely different.

Finally, I think the Berry and Bramble Cardigan looks wonderfully cozy. It would be a comfortable weekend lounging piece, or I could dress it up to wear when I teach. Choosing the yarn may be a challenge, as I want something soft that still has nice stitch definition.

From KnitScene:

It was like Melissa Wehrle was designing just for me in this issue! Two of her sweaters (Carnaby Street Pullover and the Berkshire Dolman Sweater) will probably be next on my needles after the Nordique Swing. Both have a certain academic feel that, again, I could dress up or down.

From Debbie Bliss Knitting Magazine:

Have you been watching Glee? Emma, the guidance counselor reminds me (and everyone else…) of myself, minus the extreme germaphobia. I have to admit, I would wear every outfit that she’s been costumed in so far this season. Debbie Bliss’s Boat-Collared Jacket seems like something right out of Emma’s wardrobe, so it’s high up in my queue.

From Made in Brooklyn:

I would love to knit every single pattern in Jared Flood’s new book, but I’ve narrowed it down to my short list for the time being.

I could see myself wearing Stilwell on weekend outdoor adventures with Sweetie. I’ll have to find just the right tweed yarn for this project. Queensland Collection Rustic Tweed is the current forerunner, but I don’t know if they make the colors I’m looking for.

What swing dancer couldn’t resist Quincy? I love the idea of a flapper style for the colder months. I’ll probably make this one in a color to match my cranberry pea coat for a jaunty winter look.

I love both versions of Beaumont, but I think the Beaumont Beanie will be more flattering on me. Again, I’m not sure what color scheme to go with. I need to get a new winter coat this year, so I may wait and choose colors to match.

Willoughby was another case of pattern love at first sight. The lace, the nupps, the edging–all gorgeous! I normally like to make bright scarves to perk up the grey winter months, but I may make this one in a classic cream.

Everyone I’ve seen look through the book loves the Grove mittens. What more can I say? They’re lovely and I don’t think one can ever have too many pairs of mittens.

When I’m feeling creative, I’ll top off my outfit with the Laurel beret. The sheer amount of texture in this piece makes me want to start knitting it straightaway.

From Twist Collective:

I love throwing on a light, fitted cardigan when I’m wearing a dress or skirt, so Audrey in Unst fits the bill. In fact, I would love to have one of these little cardis in every color, but the amount of time it will take to knit a sport-weight cardigan means I’ll have to select my color wisely.

From Knitty:

And one last little scarf: Kernel. I think the main attraction I have to this scarf is the yarn. Since the LYS where I work doesn’t carry Hand Maiden yarns, I’ll have to substitute something equally stunning.

So there you have it. A long list, but, I think, a good one. Of course, I couldn’t just dive right in as soon as these magazines arrived. My office on campus is much too chilly for my taste, so my first order of business this fall was to knit up a Hemlock Ring blanket for my desk. I finished with the exceedingly long bind-off last night and now need to decide which floor space I’m willing to part with for a few days while the blanket dries. Once it’s blocked, you can be sure I’ll stop in here with some lovely FO photos.

Enough with the knit-daydreaming. It’s time to attend to my pile of student papers waiting to be graded.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    December 30, 2009 2:22 pm

    Did you make the debbie bliss boat collared jacket? I’m in the process and have run into a snag. I’m wondering if anyone else has had the same one or if it’s my special problem!

Trackbacks

  1. Giftting « Red Knits

Leave a Reply

