Skip to content

Hemlock Ring

October 11, 2009

The Hemlock Ring blanket for my chilly new office has been done for a couple weeks now. D’you wanna see?

Isn’t she lovely? I chose the color by matching it with the two colors of chairs that we have in our office of eight–gray and electric blue. This way if I change to a different desk next year, the blanket will still match.

This was the perfect beginning-of-graduate-school-knit. I knit the center flower in one or two sittings and then it was on to the feather and fan pattern. Feather and fan is just right: enough of a pattern to be interesting, but easy enough that it’s never frustrating.

I went with a relatively relaxed approach to blocking. I didn’t pin out the hundreds of little loops; I’m happy if it lays flat and looks even.

It should be just the right size to wrap around my shoulders or drape over my lap. Since I spend so much of my time sitting still at my desk, it’s easy to get chilled. Being cold makes it hard for me to be productive.

Pattern: The Hemlock Ring Blanket by Jared Flood of Brooklyn Tweed
Yarn: 3 skeins Cascade 220 Heathers #2423
Needles: a variety of US 9 circulars
Made for: Me
Timeline: September 6-October 2 2009
Modifications: Note-knit to round 55 of chart
Worst Part: That bind-off went on forever!
Best Part: Inspiring other knitters–this knit got a lot of attention in the shop.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Red's Mom permalink
    October 11, 2009 8:25 am

    You are SOOOOO your mother’s child sometimes…matching the color of your blanket to the chairs in your office! The project does, however, seem to incorporate an un-necessary amount of color. Don’t you think a nice shade of tan or off-white would have been an even more versatile and sensible choice? Just thinkin’……!

    And by the way – it’s fabulous!!!

Leave a Reply

