Skip to content

Well, it wasn’t Rhinebeck…

October 31, 2009

The rest of the knit-blogosphere may be writing about their woolie adventures at Rhinebeck, but I’m here to tell you about the amazing time that I had at the Colloquium on Modern Rhetoric!

Really.

It was fun.

You don’t believe me, do you?

Look at it like this: Rhinebeck, NY is the UMTC campus, the fiber-celebrities are prominent rhetoric scholars from top universities, and the sheep and wool are profound thoughts on rhetoric and modernity. See? It really is fun!

If that’s not enough to convince you, keep in mind that I got to experience the culture of Dinkytown, check out a new (to me) coffee shop, see the UMTC campus up close and personal, and make a pilgrimmage to Chipotle (seriously-a mile in the rain wearing new heels that gave me huge blisters, but so worth it).

And I did some knitting.


I worked through Clue 3 of the Socktober Mystery Sock in the car. I’ve since found out that I managed to miss the release of Clue 4, so I’m a little behind the game.


Once I decided to knit during the Colloquium panels, I really cruised on my ‘Hers’ sock. This has been sitting in my backpack since the beginning of the semester for those moments when I need some emergency knitting. Apparently I either haven’t required emergency knitting or haven’t had the time for it. Knitting during the panels had the added bonus of being a conversation-starter with some of the professors at the Colloquium. One of them said that he wished he had something to do with his hands so that his mind wouldn’t wander–exactly!!

This weekend will likely amount to very little knitting. I have a round of papers to grade and some significant strides to make in my research, as I’ll be out of town and away from my work next weekend.

Happy knitting!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 31, 2009 2:25 pm

    I think the idea of both events is to stretch ones intellect, so I agree, you had a Rhinebeck equivalence.

    Both socks are looking great. Knitting through lectures is the best.

Leave a Reply

